To Fine-Tune

……actually I don’t know if this is the right word for what I’m about to write about but it’s what the dictionary suggested to me 😉

Soon – actually already this Friday June 5th. – it’s Father’s Day here in Denmark. I usually make a little fun project for the Father of my boys and this year will be no different.

While thinking about what to make this year, an older Danish comedian show popped into my head – something that Dan and I used to laugh much about and I would use it every time Dan would go into this male mode – the Fine-Tuning mode or Fine Thinking mode. The state where men lock them selves into their inner man cave, to think about something important (for them at least 😉 ) This could, according to this comedian, be practiced while sawing into a particleboard – making a shelf or birdhouse or anything less complicated. Simply time for the man himself and when he finally finishes and hangs up the shelf or whatever, he expect to be complimented and be petted on the chin as recognition of this work well done. Actually he think he deserves this recognition every time he’s done any work – ESPECIALLY work for the wife 😀

Long story short – I know the joke is lost in translation – I made the Tool Caddy from Simply Crafty Svgs and filled it with two Beers made from the Soda Can also from Simply Crafty Svgs:

Billede 01d

I used AC Cardstock, patterned paper from Craft Consortium with Metal Textures and print and cut-outs.

For the handle and the label, I used a 3D embossing folder with woodgrain texture from Tim Holtz and all edges are inked with Distress Ink.

I really love how realistic I got these beers to look 🙂

Billede 01g

Tuborg is a Danish Beer Brand owned by Carlsberg and this Classic variation is Dan’s favorite so off course it had to be those. Even though we’re not together anymore, I still make stuff for him from the kids.

This ingenious can is box so the bottom slides off and an actual beer can could be stored inside but I think I will settle for something lighter.

Billede 01f

So now the Caddy is all ready to be carried out into the work shed/garage with a couple of beers to make the fine-tuning/fine-thinking a little easier 😉

Billede 01e

Happy Father’s Day to all Dads out there and thank you very much for joining me on my blog today.

Did you like this project? Please let me know in a comment below

 

10 thoughts on “To Fine-Tune

Leave a comment